What is an area with lots of mountains called?

An area with lots of mountains is usually referred to as being mountainous, spelt in English, m,o,u,n,t,a,i,n,o,u,s, mountainous. Although there are also mountain ranges, a series of connected mountains, the alps for instance, or the Himalayas.