What made the dinosaurs extinct?

Volcanic eruptions that caused large-scale climate change may also have been involved, together with more gradual changes to Earth's climate that happened over millions of years. Whatever the causes, the huge extinction that ended the age of the dinosaur left gaps in ecosystems around the world.