Who is eleven from stranger things?

Eleven, (played by Millie Bobby Brown), was kidnapped and raised in Hawkins National Laboratory, where she was experimented on for her inherited psychokinetic abilities. In a lab experiment, she makes contact with a creature from another dimension, accidentally opening an inter-dimensional gateway.