What's the world's most spoken language?

Speakers of a 1st language: Mandarin/Standard Chinese is first, with 921 million speakers, followed by Spanish, 471 million speakers, then by English with almost 370 million speakers. Hindi is 4th with 342 millions. For 2nd language speakers English is most widely spoken with 978 millions.