What is a step squad?

Becoming the Step Squad is the teamwork themed of episode 15 in season 4 of the children's tv show Numberblocks. Based on stacked number cubes from 1 through to 5, they form a staircase of 'steps' and together make up a 'step squad' which allows them to reach balloons that were floating too high.