Was there a train crash in nineteen sixty eight?

On the 6th of January 1968, a low-loader transporter was struck by a British Rail express train on a recently installed automatic level crossing at Hixon, Staffordshire, England. The collision resulted in eleven deaths and forty-five people injured.