Why are digestives called digestives?

Digestive biscuits (also known as sweetmeal biscuits) were invented in 1839 Scotland. They were named digestives as they were intended to aid digestion, including an antacid effect from sodium bicarbonate in the recipe, although it is now known they do not provide such assistance to digestion.