How are tsunamis formed?

The vast majority of tsunamis form due to earthquakes, specifically tectonic tsunamis. As an earthquake happens, the ground beneath the water is moved up and/or down abruptly and as this movement happens, a mass of water is displaced and starts moving in all directions.