Who was the first person to use the word cell?

Scientist, Robert Hook described the microscopic structure of cork as made up of cells in 1665. It reminded him of monk’s celluli, the spaces where they slept. This is derived from the Latin ‘celare’, to hide. So perhaps the credit goes to the Romans.