Why do people say clean as a whistle?

Their are a number of thoughts but personally I think it maybe one of two, it may relate, that to get a sweet and pure sound from a whistle or reed, the tube must be clean and dry. Or that on old locomotives where the brass, especially the whistle was always bright and gleaming.