What was the ussr before nineteen twenty two?

The main landmass of the USSR belonged to the Russian Empire from 1721 until the February Revolution of 1917, which deposed Tsar Nicholas II. The Russian Republic was then formed until it became know as the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic in July 1918. This was superceded by the USSR.