What is a wet nelly?

A "wet nelly", or nelson cake, is a bread and butter pudding usually made from stale breadcrumbs, milk, eggs, and dried fruit. The term also lends its name to the aquatic Lotus car used by James Bond in the 1977 film, "The Spy Who Loved Me"