Who reigned after charles the first?

Oliver Cromwell was an English general and statesman who ruled the British Isles as Lord Protector from 1653 until his death in 1658. Following the English Civil War and the execution of King Charles he acted simultaneously as head of state and head of government of the new republican commonwealth.