What is the galactic barrier?

The "galactic barrier" is a plot device from the Star Trek movies. The screen writers use it to to introduce new twists to storylines. Things that should not be able to happen, happen. Previously unknown forces appear from behind it. It makes the films less predictable, adding to the fans' enjoyment