What's another name for the bends?

The bends in scuba diving is also known as decompression sickness or Caisson disease. It occurs when gases (nitrogen) are dissolved into the bloodstream under increased pressure the deeper and longer a diver goes, and the gases comes out as bubbles in the bloodstream on surfacing.