What's the most rarest animal on the planet?

The single rarest animal in the world is the vaquita (Phocoena sinus). This porpoise lives only in the extreme northwestern corner of the Gulf of California in Mexico. Since the population was recorded at 567 in 1997, it has since declined to its current state of 18 as of 24 Jul 2021