What is phyllida mode?

I think you may be asking about Thalidomide. Thalidomide was a drug used in the late 1950s and early 1960s for the treatment of nausea in pregnant women. It became apparent in the 1960s that thalidomide treatment resulted in severe birth defects in thousands of children.