When did mcdonald's sell their first big mac?

The first new item to be added to the national menu was the Filet-O-Fish sandwich in 1965. Three years later, the Big Mac was released nationwide. Created by owner and operator Jim Delligatti of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1967, the first "Big Mac" featured a triple-decker burger.