What's the difference between milk and buttermilk?

Buttermilk is a slightly sour milk. ... Because the proteins in buttermilk are curdled, buttermilk is slightly thicker than regular milk, but not quite as thick as cream. Buttermilk is also usually much lower in fat than regular milk and cream.