What is a light year measured in?

A light-year is a unit of length used to express astronomical distances and is equivalent to 9.46 trillion kilometres, or 5.88 trillion miles. As defined by the International Astronomical Union [I.A.U], a lightyear is the distance light travels in a vacuum in one Julian year; exactly 365.25 days.