How do you get to the underworld in minecraft?

To get to the Nether you must build a nether portal, first use obsidian blocks to build a hollow rectangular shape that's at least 4 blocks wide and 5 blocks tall, then use a flint and steel to place a fire inside the obsidian frame you have built.