Who invented rhubarb crumble?

Rhubarb has been cultivated since the 1600s, its introduction to Europe from China is attributed to Marco Polo. A Rhubarb crumble became popular in Britain during World War II, when the topping was an economical alternative to pies due to shortages of pastry ingredients as the result of rationing.