When was the polio vaccine developed?

Jonas Salk (1914–1995) developed the polio vaccine, which was approved in 1955. Although it was the first polio vaccine, it was not to be the last; Albert Bruce Sabin (1906–1993) introduced an oral vaccine in the United States in the 1960s that replaced Salk's.