Is jerusalem a capital city?

Israel and the Palestinians hold competing claims to Jerusalem, a city considered holy to the Jews, Christians, and Muslims. The Palestinians claim East Jerusalem as the capital of an independent state they hope for, while Israel regards the whole of Jerusalem as its capital.