Do shih tzus molt?

Well… although the Shih Tzu is indeed a great pet choice for allergy sufferers, to say they are a non-shedding dog breed isn't entirely accurate. The Shih Tzu is among the few breeds whose coat is made up of hair (like people) instead of fur, but they will shed their hair daily, just as people do.