How do you chop spring onion?

Cut the roots off, and any green leaves at the top that are wilted. (Top and tail) Then you can slice thinly horizontally or vertically depending on what size and length you need in your dish. Horizontally sliced pieces will stir-fry well and vertical slices look good in salads.