When did japan enter the second world war?

In September 27th 1940, Japan signed the Tripartite Pact with Nazi Germany and Fascist Italy, in which they agreed to assist one another should any of them be attacked by a country not already involved in the war. On December 7, 1941, Japan attacked the U.S. naval base at Pearl Harbour.