How do you cook apples?

It depends on what you are wanting to do with them. For a baked apple, cut out the core and stuff them with sultanas, cinamon and sugar, then bake at 190C, in a shallow dish of water, for 35 minutes. The steam from the water will help with the baking. It is cooked when tender, but not mushy