What is a partial eclipse?

A solar eclipse occurs when a portion of the Earth is engulfed in a shadow cast by the Moon which fully or partially blocks sunlight. This occurs when the Sun, Moon and Earth are aligned. It is a partial eclipse when only part of the sun’s disc is covered