Is marcus thirlwell dead?

In season 6 of line of duty the captain of the Spanish police identifies 2 bodies discovered in a villa as Marcus Thurwell and his wife. They have been deceased for several days, given the rate of decomposition. It is widely speculated in upcoming season 7 we may find out he is still alive.