What does practice with a c. mean?

In UK English there are two spellings for the word "practice". One ends in "I", "S", "E" and is a verb meaning "to repeat in order to improve". The other ends in "I", "C", "E" and is a noun meaning a doctors' practice. The words "practice with a C" are used to differentiate between the two words.