What is barotroma?

Barotrauma is physical damage to body tissues caused by a difference in pressure between a gas space inside, or in contact with, the body, and the surrounding gas or fluid. Initial tissue damage is caused by direct expansion of the gas in the closed space, or by a hydrostatic pressure differential.