How many cups of water will it take to kill you?

Water intoxication tends to start appearing after you consume more than 3 to 4 L of water in a few hours. The recommended amount is 8 glasses of water containing 8oz of fluid. This is classed as the 8 by 8 rule and is approximately half a gallon of water per day.