What's the difference between sleet and hale?

Sleet forms in winter storms, while hail is a warm-season type of precipitation. Sleet forms when snow melts in a warm layer and then refreezes into ice pellets as it falls though a cold layer. Hail, however, forms in spring, summer or fall thunderstorms.