How did australia get on fire?

Because Australia is very hot in summertime, which starts in October, and has suffered a long drought, fires are easily started by natural lightening, or by careless people discarding cigarettes or lighting unsafe barbecues. Australians are suffering flooding - now that the rain has arrived.