Who began construction of the tower of london?

The Tower of London, is a castle on the north bank of the River Thames in central London. Founded towards the end of 1066 as part of the Norman Conquest of England, it was built by William the Conqueror in 1078. It was a resented symbol of oppression, inflicted upon London by the ruling elite.