What states are in south america?

There are 16 states that are classed as the as part of the American South. They are: Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and Delaware. and Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee. and Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas.