How are monkey nuts grown?

Firstly monkey nuts or peanuts are legumes, not nuts. The peanut plant is unusual because it flowers above ground but the peanut grows below ground. When they're ripe and ready to harvest, they're pulled up, similar to a carrot or potato. Perhaps their other nickname "ground nut" is better.