What is a nine bob note?

The UK currency used to be Pounds, Shillings and pence. There were twenty shillings in a pound. A slang word for shilling was Bob. There were ten-shilling notes, known as ten Bob notes. If someone is dishonest he is said to be as bent as a nine Bob note- i.e. an obvious forgery.