What does c. o. l. l. a. t. e. r. a. l. mean?

Collateral is usually the considered value you are willing to lose or give up, in the hope of getting a better outcome later on. For example, In Chess, you willingly sacrifice a Knight to an opponent’s Queen, if it allows your Bishop to checkmate their King.