What do we use calories to measure?

A calorie is a unit that is used to measure energy. The Calorie you see on a food package is actually a kilocalorie, or 1,000 calories. A Calorie is the amount of energy needed to raise the temperature of 1 kilogram of water, 1 degree Celsius.