What does spain mean?

Definitions of Spain. a parliamentary monarchy in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula; a former colonial power. synonyms: Espana, Kingdom of Spain. example of: European country, European nation. any one of the countries occupying the European continent. Spanish is a Romance language........