What is the tiny structure that carries genetic instructions for living things?

Deoxyribonucleic acid D. N. A. is a molecule composed of two polynucleotide chains that coil around each other to form a double helix carrying genetic instructions for the development, functioning, growth and reproduction of all known organisms and many viruses