What is a vascular bridge?

A myocardial bridge is a usually harmless condition in which one or more of the coronary arteries goes through the heart muscle instead of lying on its surface. Most bridges don't seem to cause symptoms. However, some people with myocardial bridges can experience angina, or chest pain.