What band was originally known as mr. soft?

The band 'Mr Soft' was formed at Bury College in 1990. 'Mr Soft' was a tribute to the Cockney Rebel song of the same name. The band later dropped the 'Mr' to become known as 'Soft', and In 1997 Soft changed their name to what we know them as today - 'Elbow'.