Why is joe exotic a convicted felon?

Now, "Tiger King" Joe Exotic, has been sentenced to 21 years behind bars for a murder-for-hire attempt on a rival, an animal rights activist. It cuts by one year a sentence given in 2020, when he was first convicted.