What are the different numbers of s. p. f. mean?

S.p.f. or Sun protection Factor is given in numbers which represent the length of time it takes to be burnt by the sun. For example if you would normally be burnt in 10 minutes. Spf 20 would indicate it would take 20 times 10 minutes to be burned when using it