What's a merkin?

A merkin is a wig used to cover the pubic region. The merkin's original purpose was highly practical: women, particularly prostitutes, shaved their pubic hair to combat pubic lice and maintain better hygiene, but then for cosmetic reasons, donned the wig to cover up their private parts.