What is your matic mean?

maybe it's the misheard word "U-matic".? If so it is a semi-professional system for video recording, editing and archiving pictures and sound on 0.75 inch wide video tape. Widely used in the 1980s but long-since replaced by digital media. It was available in portable units [very heavy!] & studios.