Why do americans call english limeys?

The term ‘Limey’ had its heyday during the early 20th century where it was used as a shorthand reference for English emigrants arriving in America, South Africa and Australia. Its roots come from the British navy’s use of limes to prevent scurvy during the late 19th century.